# **MINUTES**

# DRAFT

### LABOR RELATIONS COMMITTEE

111 S. Michigan Ave., Rm. 200, Saginaw, MI 48602

## Tuesday, November 12, 2024 at 4:00 p.m.

Present: Michael Webster - Chair, Sheldon Matthews - Vice-Chair, Denny Harris, Gerald Little,

Christopher Boyd

Others: Mary Catherine Hannah, Jennifer Broadfoot, Dave Gilbert, Patricia Johnson, Tracey Slodowski,

Suzy Koepplinger, Renee Sharkey, and Catherine Hicks

I. Call to Order ---Webster at 4:00 p.m.

II. Welcome – Roll Call

III. Correction/Approval of Minutes (September 9, 2024 Minutes)

---Moved by Harris, seconded by Little, to approve. Motion carried.

- IV. Public Comment (Speakers limited to 3 minutes) None
- V. Agenda

#### 1. <u>Jennifer Broadfoot, Personnel Director</u>, re:

- 11-19-9 Employment Status Report, Exit Interviews, Employee Groups, and Retiree Employment Contracts covering the months of September and October 2024 (Receive & File)
  - ---Discussion was held regarding retention of seasonal employees at Mosquito Control assisting with the move to the new facility on Towerline. Additional staff will not be necessary, and they should be completely moved from Congress to Towerline by January. Webster commented that the number of "Voluntary Departures" noted on the report has been reduced since 2022 and that it is probably due to increased stability in the labor market post-COVID.
  - --- Moved by Boyd, seconded by Little, to receive and file. Motion carried.

#### 2. Dave Gilbert, Civil/Labor Counsel, re:

- 11-19-10 Requesting consideration and approval of two (2) Memorandums of Understanding between County of Saginaw, Saginaw County Sheriff, and (1) Command Officers Association of Michigan and (2) Police Officers Association of Michigan Unit 312, both regarding continuation of the current high deductible health plan for the 2025 plan year
  - ---Moved by Matthews, seconded by Boyd, to approve contingent upon union approval. Motion carried. (Board Report)
- VI. Miscellaneous ---None
- VII. Adjournment --- Moved by Harris, seconded by Little, to adjourn. Motion carried; time being 4:10 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Michael Webster, Committee Chair Suzy Koepplinger, Committee Clerk