# ADDENDUM SAGINAW COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Tuesday, April 20, 2021 - 5:00 p.m.

Carl E. Ruth – Chair, Sheldon Matthews – Vice-Chair Christopher S. Boyd, Carol E. Ewing, Kyle R. Harris, Dennis H. Krafft Gerald D. Little, Jack B. Tany, James G. Theisen, Michael A. Webster

Saginaw County Governmental Center 111 S. Michigan Ave., Rm. 200, Saginaw, MI 48602 VIA ZOOM PER PA 267 of 1976/PA 228 of 2020 & Local Emergency Declaration dated April 8, 2021

Join Zoom Meeting: <u>https://zoom.us/j/8024441727</u> Meeting ID: 802 444 1727 INSTRUCTIONS using ZOOM audio conferencing:

Call +1(301)715-8592 or +1(312)626-6799 and enter Meeting ID: 802 444 1727

- II. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION (Page 1)
  - a. Public Hearings None
  - b. Audiences None Additional
  - c. Laudatories None
- III. PETITIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS (Page 2) None Additional
- IV. INITIATORY MOTIONS None

#### V. REPORTS OF COMMITTEES – (Page 4) – Additional

- **6.1)** Recommendation from Executive Committee to fill the County Commissioner District #1 vacancy (*Board Report 6.1 is attached*)
- VI. RESOLUTIONS None additional
- VII. CLOSING PROCEDURE (Page 29)
- a. 1) <u>Unfinished Business</u> *None* 
  - 2) <u>Proclamations</u> *None*
  - 3) Appointments and Elections –

## **CHAIR APPOINTMENTS**

None

## ELECTIONS

None

- b. Announcements by Chair
- c. Commissioners' Audiences
- d. Adjournment

#### FROM: EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE -- 6.1

Your Executive Committee met prior to the April 20, 2021 Board Session to consider applicants to fill the District #1 County Commissioner seat that was vacated as of March 25, 2021 because the officeholder is no longer a registered voter of the district as required by law.

Former commissioner of District #1, Kathleen K. Dwan, announced her resignation at the March 16, 2021 Board Session and on April 2, 2021 submitted a written resignation with an effective date of April 30, 2021. Subsequent to this action, the County Clerk was notified that Mrs. Dwan's voter registration status changed with the State of Michigan on March 25, 2021 which caused the commissioner seat to become vacant on that date.

Pursuant to MCL 46.411, "A candidate for the office of county commissioner shall be a resident and registered voter of the district that he or she seeks to represent and shall remain a resident and registered voter to hold his or her office, if elected." The Board Chairman, Carl Ruth, issued a Press Release asking for Letters of Interest and qualifications for submission prior to 5:00 p.m. on April 19, 2021. Six (6) applicants were reviewed by the County Clerk and one was deemed ineligible due to no current voter registration being on file. The remaining five (5) applicants were interviewed prior to this Board Session.

We recommend applicants Patrick Wurtzel and Cynthia Winiecke be submitted to the full board for consideration to fill the vacancy in County Commissioner District #1.

Respectfully Submitted, **EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE** 

s/

Carl E. Ruth, Chairman

s/\_\_\_\_\_

s/

James G. Theisen

s/\_\_\_\_

Sheldon Matthews

Michael A. Webster

s/

Dennis H. Krafft