

SAGINAW COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SUMMARY OF OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS DECEMBER 17, 2024 SESSION

The December Session of the Board of Commissioners of Saginaw County, Michigan convened at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 17, 2024 at the Saginaw County Courthouse, 111 S. Michigan Ave., Saginaw, MI 48602 with the Honorable Christopher S. Boyd in the Chair.

PRESENT: Christopher S. Boyd, Lisa R. Coney, Jack B. Tany, Denny M. Harris, Dennis H. Krafft, Gerald D. Little,

Sheldon Matthews, Mark S. Piotrowski, Tracey L. Slodowski, and Michael A. Webster - 10

ABSENT: Richard A. Spitzer - 1

TOTAL: - 11

OTHERS: Mary Catherine Hannah, Koren Thurston, Dave Gilbert, John Kaczynski, Amos O'Neal, Carl Ruth, Sam Tany, Rachel Horton, David Hensler, Brian Keenan-Lechel, Jessica Sargent, Mary McLaughlin, Gail A. Little, Dan Armentrout, Deb Kestner, Hurley Coleman III, Brian Wendling, Bernard Bailey, Darcie Totten, Dennis Borchard, Sheila Harris, Katharine Tessin, Marlana Cork, Alethea Taylor, Ceylon Williams-Bettis, Stephane Rundell, Amaya Bradley, Shalana Bradley, Betsy Little, Bennie Bailey, Linda Little, Kendrick Little, Tracy Gates, Tina Swanton, Andrea Foster, Suzy Koepplinger, Renee Sharkey, Catherine Hicks and others

- Chairman Boyd asked for a moment of silence for the people who lost their lives or were affected by the Abundant Life Christian School shooting in Madison, Wisconsin
- Commissioner Krafft gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes of the November 19, 2024 Board Session were approved

AUDIENCES

- ❖ Vice-Chair Tany motioned, supported by Commissioner Matthews, to suspend the rules and introduce Commissioner Krafft's family as well as special guest, Accordion Player Linda Lee
- Chairman Boyd and Vice-Chair Tany presented outgoing County Commissioner Dennis Krafft with a Certificate of Recognition for his service to the citizens of Saginaw County for over 18 years
- State Representative Amos O'Neal congratulated Commissioner Krafft and presented him with a State Proclamation
- On behalf of Congressman Kildee, Andrea Foster presented Commissioner Krafft with a Congressional Proclamation from Congressman Dan Kildee's office
- Dennis Borchard, Saginaw County Road Commission Director, presented personalized road signs to Commissioner Krafft
- Hurley Coleman III, Executive Director SCCAC, gave updates on ARPA projects and the work that has been done already in Spaulding Township. He advised Commissioners about an information session that will be on January 7, 2025.
- Tina Swanton, CEO Saginaw Community Food Club and Kitchen, gave updates on the progress of the project and a ground-breaking ceremony in early spring 2025 at 310 Meredith St.
- Administrator Hannah introduced the new Saginaw County IT Director, Andrew Klaczkiewicz

INITIATORY MOTIONS

None

FOIA APPEAL

• The Board approved a motion to issue written notice upholding the deposit requested of Jacob Morse

LAUDATORY RESOLUTIONS/PROCLAMATIONS

- Certificate of Recognition to Commissioner Dennis Krafft for his service to the citizens of Saginaw County for over 18 years
- Certificate of Recognition to Maureen Hass, Office Coordinator in the County Treasurer's Office, upon her retirement
- Certificate of Recognition to Margie Dwenger, Immunizations at the Health Department, upon her retirement

REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

- Approved the vendor transactions for November 2024 in the amount of \$16,474,975.66
- > Approved the 2023 Cost Allocation Plan and IT Rate Calculation for FY 2025 and the budget amendment
- Approved the Health Department's acceptance of FY25 MDHHS grant funding of \$263,000 for lead education and faucet replacement
- ➤ Approved a Commission on Aging budget adjustment in the amount of \$300,000 using unrestricted fund balance for renovations at the Eleanor Frank/Main Administrative Building/Central Kitchen, to purchase furniture/kitchen equipment for the Marie Davis building, and other costs
- Approved to amend Family Division/Juvenile FY 2025 budget to provide for an increase in compensation for contract attorneys for abuse/neglect matters
- Approved reallocating ARPA funds to the Courthouse HVAC project

RESOLUTIONS

- ❖ Approved Resolution 2024 12; RESOLUTION TO UNDERTAKE A PROJECT UNDER ACT 185 FOR THE DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS KNOWN AS "RICHLAND SEWAGE DISPOSAL SYSTEM IMPROVEMENTS"
- ❖ Approved Resolution 2024 13; RESOLUTION APPROVING APPORTIONMENT OF OPERATIONAL COSTS AND ACCEPTING FOR FILE THE FISCAL 2025 BUDGET OF THE SAGINAW AREA STORM WATER AUTHORITY
- ❖ Approved Resolution 2024 14; RESOLUTION ACCEPTING TERMS OF A MICHIGAN NATURAL RESOURCES TRUST FUND GRANT AGREEMENT FOR THE SAGINAW VALLEY RAIL TRAIL

PROCLAMATIONS

None

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Approved amendments to the 2024 Board Rules, Sections 1.1 & 2.6

APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Boyd made the following appointments:

Animal Control Advisory Council

✓ Carolann Pickelmann was appointed effective November 20, 2024 to replace Michele Fleming for a term to expire 12/31/26 and Demetrios Scott was appointed to replace Randall Howard for a term to expire 12/31/25

Michigan Works! Workforce Development Board

✓ Jasmine Calhoun was appointed to replace Mary Ellen Johnson for a term to expire 6/30/26

ELECTIONS

Board of Health

✓ Dr. Gene Nuckolls, Dr. Charles Mueller, Calvin Williams and Shane Hunt were reappointed with terms to expire December 31, 2027

HealthSource Saginaw

✓ Jenean Coughlin was reappointed for a term to expire December 31, 2027

Saginaw County Community Mental Health Authority

✓ Jacob Kern (Primary Consumer) was appointed to fill the vacancy of Deb Nagel, with a term to expire March 31, 2027; Susan McCauley (Agency/Occupation) was appointed to fill the vacancy of Cherie Long, with a term to expire March 31, 2025; Jaime Huffman (Agency/Occupation) was appointed to fill the vacancy of Kathleen Schachman, with a term to expire March 31, 2027

CHAIR ANNOUNCEMENTS

• Chairman Boyd acknowledged Eric Kowalewski's comment in the December 10th Special Session about the majority of this Board's decisions being made in consensus. Chairman Boyd spoke of the value of this group of commissioners being able to make a positive impact for Saginaw County. Despite party differences there is unity not divisiveness. He acknowledged it hadn't always been that way.

COMMISSIONER AUDIENCES

- Vice-Chair Tany congratulated Commissioner Lisa Coney for earning the County Uplift Award, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
- Commissioner Piotrowski announced Freeland Lights 2024, with free light shows at Hayes Park in Tittabawassee Township will remain viewable until December 31st nightly from 5:30 p.m. until 10:00 p.m.
- Commissioner Krafft introduced his family that were in attendance at the meeting.
- Commissioner Coney announced the meal giveaway planned at Hoyt Park on Saturday, December 21, 2024 from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. One thousand warm meals will be served.
- Chairman Boyd called on Commissioner Dennis H. Krafft to be acting Chair until the end of the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted,

SAGINAW COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS CHRISTOPHER S. BOYD, CHAIRMAN VANESSA GUERRA, COUNTY CLERK

Prepared by: Suzy Koepplinger, Board Coordinator/Deputy Clerk