• • •

SAGINAW COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SUMMARY OF OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS DECEMBER 19, 2023 SESSION

The December Session of the Board of Commissioners of Saginaw County, Michigan convened at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, December 19, 2023 at the Saginaw County Courthouse, 111 S. Michigan Ave., Saginaw, MI 48602 with the Honorable Christopher S. Boyd in the Chair.

Present: Christopher S. Boyd, Lisa R. Coney, Denny M. Harris, Dennis H. Krafft, Gerald D. Little, Sheldon Matthews, Mark S. Piotrowski, Tracey L. Slodowski, Richard A. Spitzer, Jack B. Tany and Michael A. Webster – 11

Absent: -0

Others: Dave Gilbert, Koren Thurston, Brian Wendling, Jennifer Broadfoot, Jessica Sargent, Dennis Borchard, Rene DeSander, Bill Stanuszek, Chris Harrington, Isaac Blackmon, Sgt. Jim Hogue, Brian Keenan – Lechel, Sam Tany, Suzy Koepplinger, Marissa Sawdon, Catherine Hicks, and others

4 Commissioner Matthews gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

 Minutes of the November 15, 2023 Special Board Session; November 21, 2023 Board Session; and November 27/28, 2023 Special Board Session were approved

PUBLIC HEARING

None

AUDIENCES

None

INITIATORY MOTIONS

None

LAUDATORY RESOLUTIONS/PROCLAMATIONS

- Certificate of Recognition to Ron Vondette, Carrollton Basketball Coach, for his legacy, commitment to the community, and dedication of the Carrollton High School gymnasium floor as the Ron Vondette Court
- Certificate of Recognition to Lisa Schroeder upon her retirement from the Friend of the Court after 42 years of service
- Certificate of Recognition to Jamice Burns-Landrum upon her retirement from the Health Department after 25+ years of service

REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

- > Approved payment to MSU Extension of \$111,449 for FY 2023 pursuant to contractual agreement
- Approved Civil Counsel negotiating with Saginaw Public Schools for the purchase of 705 N. Towerline, Buena Vista, and to negotiate a design-build and purchase of a renovated building on the site
- Approved the Saginaw County 2022 Cost Allocation Plan, the 2022 IT Rate Calculation along with the necessary budget adjustments, and a General Fund Maintenance of Effort contribution of \$1.6 million to the Health Department. Further, referred the Maintenance of Effort additional funding of \$199,148 to the Health Department back to Budget/Audit Committee for further review and discussion
- > Approved Financial Transactions paid by the county for November 2023 in the amount of \$13,806,608.32
- Approved adjustment of Commission on Aging Restricted Funds for Senior Center Activities budget by \$5,500 to reflect revenue from the National Energy Foundation for participation in the Consumers Energy Smart Service Program
- Approved an increase to the Health Department's vaccine administration fee and approved new fees to the fee schedule
- Approved Memorandum of Understanding with POAM regarding the transfer of two deputies from POAM Non 312 representing Corrections Officers to POAM 312 bargaining unit, representing deputies
- > Approved Committee Compensation Reports 12-19-23.1 and 12-19-23.2

RESOLUTIONS

None

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

None

APPOINTMENTS

Chairman Boyd made the following appointments:

Brownfield Redevelopment Authority

[Terms to expire 12-31-26]

- ✓ James Totten
- ✓ Tom Miller, Sr.
- ✓ Chair of County Services

Michigan Works! Consortium Board

[Terms to expire 12-31-24]

- ✓ Sheldon Matthews
- ✓ Gerald Little
- ✓ Rich Spitzer
- ✓ Jack Tany
- ✓ Michael Webster

Mosquito Abatement Commission

[Term to expire 12-31-24]

✓ Christopher Boyd

Tri City Area Joint Zoning Board

[Terms to expire 12-31-25]

- ✓ Mark Piotrowski, County Commissioner
- ✓ Al Kaufman, H.W. Browne Airport Mgr.
- ✓ Jeff Turner, H.W.B. Airport Advisory Board

ELECTIONS

- ✓ Elected Shane Hunt, Chief Nursing Officer at Ascension St. Mary's, to the **Board of Health** to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Dr. Stephanie Duggan, for a term to expire December 31, 2024.
- Re-elected Alvaretta Lewis, Barb Kemp-Lauria, Samuel Shaheen, M.D., and Renee Johnston, CEO to the Board of Health for a term to expire December 31, 2026
- ✓ Re-elected Jamie Forbes and Kathleen McGraw to HealthSource Saginaw, Inc. for a term to expire December 31, 2026
- ✓ Re-elected Ruth Averill and Rob Brown to the Parks & Recreation Commission for a term to expire January 1, 2027

CHAIR ANNOUNCEMENTS

- Chairman Boyd confirmed the hiring of Mary Catherine Hannah as our new Saginaw County Administrator. After negotiations with her and the Alpena County Board of Commissioners, she will begin her tenure in Saginaw County on January 22, 2024.
- Chairman Boyd commented on the large attendance at the County Employee Holiday Gathering at Horizons Conference Center and when he met with the elected officials they wanted to extend their thanks to the Board of Commissioners. He also thanked county employees and board members for their service and wished everyone a Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and Happy New Year!

COMMISSIONER AUDIENCES

- Commissioner Krafft stated that with his recent surgery he has had time to reflect on our Board of Commissioners compared to dissension that is occurring in boards around the country. He is thankful that we can all work together and is looking forward to working with everyone in 2024.
- Chairman Boyd and Commissioner Coney thanked the Board Staff and presented them with gifts on behalf of the Board of Commissioners.

Respectfully Submitted,

SAGINAW COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

CHRISTOPHER S. BOYD, CHAIRMAN VANESSA GUERRA, COUNTY CLERK

Prepared by: Suzy Koepplinger, Deputy Clerk