MINUTES COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE

<u>Tuesday, August 25, 2020 – 4:00 p.m.</u> TheDow Event Center – Red Room

303 Johnson St., Saginaw, MI 48607

Present: Carl Ruth - Committee Chair, Kathy Dwan, Cheryl Hadsall, Kyle Harris, Kirk Kilpatrick, Dennis Krafft, Sheldon Matthews, Amos O'Neal, Charles Stack, James Theisen, Michael Webster

Others: Controller/CAO, Civil Counsel, Board Staff, Elected Officials, Department Heads

[NOTE: To mitigate the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic, protect the public health, and provide essential protections to Saginaw County residents, the Saginaw County Board of Commissioners will conduct entrance screening on all individuals prior to entry into the Red Room and masks are required. Entrance screening will consist of a temperature check and answering health questions. Masks, gloves and hand sanitizer will be provided. No food or drink will be provided, although you may bring your own. 6' Social Distancing and use of masks will be strictly enforced.]

- I. Call to order---Carl Ruth at 4:00 p.m.
- II. Welcome
- III. Public comment---None
- IV. Agenda
 - 1. Dave Gilbert, Civil Counsel Closed Session, re:
 - Pursuant to MCL 15.268(h) of the Open Meetings Act, the committee will convene a Closed Session to consider material exempt from discussion or disclosure by state or federal statute (legal opinion)
 ---Confidential legal opinion regarding Prevailing Wage and adoption of a Responsible Contractor Policy was provided to commissioners.

----Moved by Theisen, seconded by Ruth, to convene a Closed Session to discuss material exempt from discussion or disclosure by state or federal statute. After roll-call, the committee went into closed session; time being 4:00 p.m. The committee returned to open session at 4:28 p.m. Moved by Krafft, seconded by Dwan, to refer to County Services Committee for discussion. Motion carried after unanimous roll-call vote.

- 2. <u>Other Issues of Interest/Concern Board of Commissioners</u> ---None
- V. Miscellaneous---None
- VI. Adjournment---*Moved by Harris, seconded by Dwan, to adjourn. Motion carried; time being 4:30 p.m.*

Respectfully Submitted, Suzy Koepplinger, Committee Clerk Carl E. Ruth, Committee Chair

Note: Upon completion of discussion, only motions to refer to an organized committee or to postpone indefinitely shall be allowed - Article IX, Section 9.5, and 2020 Board Rules.